Book Review: The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1)

Posted May 17, 2015 by booksbeautyandcoffee in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

the girl at midnightBook: The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1)

Author: Melissa Grey

Published: April 28, 2015

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Summary: For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’sShadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

*This was provided for free by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my opinion or the review to follow. *

My Review: The plot reminded me of what I’ve read so far of Daughter of Smoke & Bone and the humor totally reminded me of The Mortal Instruments. So basically, what I mean by this, is that I’m in love with yet another series.

fangirling

The beginning was a bit slow, I’m not going to lie. I know we were thrown right into the story, and I really, really enjoyed that, but after that scene, I was having to push my way through the next couple chapters. But. Thank. God. I. Did.

You know those books that just get better and better with every chapter to the point that you never ever want it to end? Yeah, say hello to that book, The Girl at Midnight. I was fangirling all over the place, freaking out over the super, hella intense fighting scenes, and literally falling into love with Dorian and Caius the entire time. I’m just really in love.

im addicted

Aside from my fangirl freak out moments, aka every damn page of the book, I also fell in love with the writing style. Everything was described so well it was honestly like I was there. I love when I can really put myself into a book, and I definitely could with The Girl at Midnight. Oh, and the way she described food was sinful. I mean, honestly. It reminded me of all of those food porn blogs on tumblr that just make you go insane and get the most random cravings at 3 am.

tumblr_nljo7jIc0R1u7gnm9o6_250

So now that I’ve bestowed that beautiful gif upon you, let me cut to the chase. This book is amazing and everyone needs to read it. Seriously.

I hope everyone has a fantabulous day/evening/morning/whenever you’re reading and happy reading!

Rating: 4 pumpkin cats

Four pumpkin cats

  • I have a soft spot for pickpockets (I really don’t know why) and Echo is an awesome name. I’m glad of your warning about the slow beginning in case I get this anytime soon… Now I want to. You have added so many books to my list today. Waahhh thanks 😉